If you suffered abuse while you were a child in care in Scotland in the past, you can apply for redress. You can also apply if you are the next of kin of a survivor of abuse. There are more details here >>


What does Redress Scotland mean by abuse, and who is eligible?

There are different kinds of abuse in care. These are emotional abuse, neglect, physical abuse and sexual abuse. The Act – and Scotland’s Redress Scheme – covers all of these kinds of abuse.

Scotland’s Redress Scheme applies to abuse that happened when the survivor was in a care setting and below the age of 18, and where the abuse happened before 1st December 2004. A ‘care setting’ is a place or an institution where children are looked after by people who are not their family. This includes most children’s homes, schools, care facilities, secure accommodation boarded-out and foster homes.

Next of kin

Applying as a survivor’s family member

When a survivor of abuse in care has died, their spouse, civil partner, co-habitant or children can apply for redress. This is called a next-of-kin application, and can be made as long as the survivor was eligible and had not already received a redress payment.

If a next-of-kin application is successful, the whole amount of redress can be paid to a spouse, civil partner or cohabitant, or divided between surviving children.

Other useful information

Helpful documents

The redress scheme in Scotland is covered by laws which protect your privacy and guarantee your right to ask for information.

Read more on these laws >>

Support for survivors

Organisations provide different kinds of support to survivors of abuse, whether or not they qualify for payment under the redress scheme. This could be counselling or therapy, or just an understanding person to talk to.

See what support is available >>